Design Day Awards, Fall 2008

CSE 498, Collaborative Design, is the senior capstone course for students majoring in computer science.  Teams of students design, develop, and deliver a significant software system for corporate clients.

The CSE capstone teams compete for four prestigious awards. 

On Design Day, the winners are selected by a panel of judges including CSE corporate partners and CSE faculty.

Auto-Owners Exposition Award

Team 1: Auto-Owners Insurance

Recruiting Contacts and Events System

Tom Randall, Jonathan Lindsey, Ashleigh New, Michael Korynski

Presented by Scott Lake and Bob Buchanan of Auto-Owners Insurance

CSE 498 capstone teams present their projects on Design Day in a variety of ways.  Teams create and set up an exhibit where they demonstrate their software systems and answer questions to Design Day attendees.  Each team will play their project videos and answer questions for a panel of judges.

The CSE capstone team with the best overall Design Day performance will be honored with the Auto-Owners Exposition Award, which is sponsored by Auto-Owners Insurance Company of Lansing, Michigan.

Return to Top

Chrysler Praxis Award

Team 7: TechSmith

Cloud Powered Media Searching

Caitlin Nelson, Scott Lamparski, Derek Gebhard, Keith Barber (Not Pictured)

Presented by Paul Van Hese of Chrysler

One of the hallmarks of CSE 498 capstone projects is that of praxis, the process of putting theoretical knowledge into practice.  Teams apply a wide variety of information technologies to produce solutions to complex problems in areas such as business, engineering, computing, and science.

The CSE capstone team that engineers the software system that is the most technically challenging will be recognized with the Chrysler Praxis Award, which is sponsored by Chrysler LLC of Auburn Hills, Michigan.

Return to Top

Crowe Horwath Sigma Award

Team 4: Ford

Ford Test Drive

Taylor Rice, Jeffrey Ignatius, Ryan Wagoner, Ronald Rodriguez

Presented by Kevin Ohl of Crowe Horwath

The CSE 498 experience represents the capstone of the educational career of each computer science major.  An intense semester of teamwork produces impressive deliverables that include a formal technical specification, software, documentation, user manuals, a video, a team web site, and Design Day participation.  The resulting sum, the capstone experience, is much greater than the parts.

The capstone team that delivers the best overall capstone experience will be recognized with the Crowe Horwath Sigma Award, which is sponsored by Crowe Horwath LLP of Oak Brook, Illinois.

Return to Top

TechSmith Screencast Award

Team 8: Toro

Golf Vision Interface for Turf Guard

Brett Lesnau, Jacob Denzer, Brian Walsh, Eric Jensen

Presented by Dean Craven of TechSmith

Each CSE 498 capstone team produces a video that describes and demonstrates their software product.  Starting with a storyboard and a script, teams use Camtasia Studio 5 to synthesize screen recordings, video, audio and other multimedia to produce their project videos.

And the TechSmith Screencast Award goes to...the CSE capstone team with the best project video.  The award is sponsored by the creators of Camtasia Studio, TechSmith of Okemos, Michigan.

Return to Top

Design Day Judges 

Return to Top

Capstone Experience
Client Projects
Meeting Agendas
Career Opportunities
Other Information
Design Day
Who's on first?